Voice Your Support for LIFE!

By January 17, 2019North Dakota
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

“Whoever welcomes one of these little children in My name welcomes Me…”  – Mark 9:37

There is an important pro-life bill that Concern­­­ed Women for America (CWA) of North Dakota is in full support of, House Bill 1285.  This is “a BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 50-25.1-15 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to abandoned infants at certain locations.”

Safe Haven Laws are dedicated to eliminating harm and death to infants by offering protection to infants and immunity to parents should they choose to leave a child under one year of age at a safe haven, unharmed.   HB 1285 increases the number of harbors in our state and provides a public awareness campaigned regarding the North Dakota safe haven law.

On Tuesday, January 15, I testified before the House Human Services Committee on behalf of CWA of North Dakota members in support of this bill.  Read my testimony here. HB 1285 may come up for a vote in committee as early as Monday, January 21, 2019. 

Please Act: Ask those on the Human Services Committee to vote a “Do Pass” on HB 1285.   

Please email and/or call these committee members TODAY. Leave a voice message if needed. Be sure to let them know that you are a member of Concerned Women for America of North Dakota.

Chairwoman Karen Rohr (R-14)  kmrohr@nd.gov or cell phone: 701-202-1956
Representative Dick Anderson (R- 31) dickanderson@nd.gov  or cell phone: 701-228-4782
Representative Chuck Damschen (R-10) cdamschen@nd.gov or cell phone: 701-370-1758
Representative Bill Devlin (R-23) bdevlin@nd.gov or home phone: 701-524-2303
Representative Gretchen Dobervich (D-11) gdobervich@nd.gov or cell phone: 701-361-5627
Representative Clayton Fegley (R-4) cfegley@nd.gov or cell phone: 701-263-1442
Representative Dwight Kiefert (R-24) dhkiefert@nd.gov or cell phone: 701-490-0443
Representative Todd Porter (R-34) tkporter@nd.gov or cell phone: 701-667-2922
Representative Matthew Ruby (R-40) mruby@nd.gov   No phone number available
Representative Mary Schneider (D-21) mschneider@nd.gov or cell phone: 701-306-0860
Representative Kathy Skroch (R-26) kskroch@nd.gov or home phone: 701-538-7396 Bill Sponsor
Representative Bill Tveit (R-33) btveit@nd.gov or cell phone: 701-870-4014
Representative Greg Westlind (R-15) gwestlind@nd.gov or cell phone: 701-739-8275

Pray for the legislators on the Human Services Committee by name that God would give them the wisdom and strength to accomplish His purposes.

“May the favor of the Lord our God rest on us; establish the work of our hands for us – yes, establish the work of our hands.”  – Psalms 90:17 

Linda Thorson,
State Director
CWA of North Dakota
nd.cwfa.org
director@northdakota.cwfa.org
Facebook: Concerned Women for America, North Dakota