Close this search box.

Virginia Student Wins Susan B. Anthony

By March 26, 2010Press Releases
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Washington, D.C. Last night at a politically star-studded gala in Washington, D.C., Concerned Women for America’s (CWA) Amanda Haas was awarded the Young Leader Award for her pro-life work. Amanda, originally from Rochester, New York, leads the CWA chapter at Liberty University.

The Susan B. Anthony List bestowed the honor on Amanda Haas for exceptional work as a new generation of trailblazers on behalf of women and unborn children. As the Executive Secretary for the Student Government Association at Liberty, she helped put on the largest pro-life conference ever held on a college campus. It raised awareness among students and the community about the pro-life movement and provided on-going opportunities for students to continue to be involved.

Amanda also led a fundraiser on campus to benefit Compass Care, a pregnancy resource center that provides free ultrasounds and Christian counseling to women with unwanted pregnancies. She leads the CWA chapter in bi-weekly prayer meetings where women on campus come together to pray for the pro-life movement, the nation’s leaders, and various key issues. Amanda is a member of the College Republicans and has campaigned for local and national pro-life conservative candidates. She is majoring in Government with a concentration in Politics and Policy. After graduation, she plans to continue working in politics fighting for the unborn.

Janet Robey, CWA’s State Director in Virginia, commented, “On the heels of a discouraging week, the award given to this deserving young lady lifted our spirits. It was a nice reminder that we have an upcoming generation that is serious about pre-born children. Working with Amanda is an extreme pleasure. Her enthusiasm and compassion for the unborn is a refreshing change from the cynicism we see in Washington these days.”

The Susan B. Anthony List Gala featured keynote addresses by Minnesota Governor Tim Pawlenty and Rep. Michele Bachmann (R-Minnesota). Also attending were Republican Representatives Steve King of Iowa, Trent Franks of Arizona, Todd Tiahrt of Kansas and Jean Schmidt of Ohio, and Jeri Thompson, the wife of former presidential candidate Fred Thompson. Mary Ellen Bork, the wife of Supreme Court nominee Richard Bork, presented the Young Leader Awards.