Update on the Delay of the Maine Marijuana Law – Committee Members Need to Hear From You

By January 17, 2017Maine
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

I plan to address the Veterans and Legal Affairs Committee today, January 17, 2017, at 1:00 p.m. Regarding L.D. #88, “An Act to Delay the Implementation of Certain Portions of the Marijuana Legalization Act.”

The Committee members need to hear from you throughout the next few days.

Take Action: Please contact every member of the Veterans and Legal Affairs Committee and ask them to support L.D. #88.

Senator Garrett Mason (R-Androscoggin), Chair, phone: 207-577-1521, e-mail: Garrett.Mason@legislature.maine.gov
Senator Michael Carpenter (D-Aroostook), – – Chaire-mail: Michael.Carpenter@Legislature.Maine.gov
Senator Ronald Collins (R-York),- – Chair e-mail: Ronald.Collins@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Louis Luchini (D-Ellsworth),  Chair e-mail: Louis.Luchini@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Owen Casás (I-Rockport),- – Chair e-mail: Owen.Casas@Legislature.Maine.gov
Representative Kathleen Dillingham(R-Oxford), – – Chaire-mail: Kathleen.Dillingham@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Bradlee Farrin (R-Norridgewock), e-mail: Bradlee.Farrin@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Sheldon Hanington (R-Lincoln),- – Chair e-mail: Sheldon.Hanington@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Craig Hickman (D-Winthrop), – – Chaire-mail: Craig.Hickman@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Thomas Longstaff (D-Waterville),- – Chair e-mail: Thomas.Longstaff@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Kimberly Monaghan (D-Cape Elizabeth),- – Chair e-mail: Kimberly.Monaghan@legislature.maine.gov
Representative John Schneck (D-Bangor), – – Chaire-mail: John.Schneck@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Dustin White (R-Washburn), e-mail: Dustin.White@legislature.maine.gov

Talking points:

  • This referendum was passed by a razor-thin margin of just a few thousand votes last November.
  • This bill would delay retail sales until February 2018.
  • Although this bill does not close two problematic loopholes by ensuring marijuana is not legal for youth and prohibiting edibles, which have led to a skyrocketing increase in hospital and ER admissions in states like Colorado, we believe it to be a step in the right direction to delay the implementation of the citizen-initiated and passed law.

Please pray:

Pray for each Committee member by name.  Pray they will exercise wisdom by voting for L.D. #88.

Penny Morrell
State Director
CWA of Maine
director@maine.cwfa.org
me.cwfa.org