Discourage Sex Trafficking

By March 23, 2017Maine
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

As the State Director of CWA of Maine I submitted written testimony today to the Criminal Justice and Public Safety Committee regarding L.D. #250, “An Act to Increase the Penalty for Aggravated Sex Trafficking”.

Human trafficking and commercial sex exploitation are a violation of human rights and a form of sexual violence. It’s way past time to get tough on this heinous behavior going on in our state and nation.  Government’s priority is to protect the lives of innocent citizens.  We believe increasing the penalty for such acts of aggravated sex trafficking will take a giant step in doing just that.

Take Action: Please contact the members of the Criminal Justice and Public Safety Committee and ask them to support this legislation.  Be sure to let them know that you are a member of Concerned Women for America of Maine. For talking points, please read my written testimony.

Committee members:
Sen. Kimberley Rosen – – Chair: 207-287-1122 / Rosen@legislature.maine.gov
Sen. Scott Cyrway – Chair: Scott.Cyrway@legislature.maine.gov
Sen. Bill Diamond- – Chair: William.Diamond@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Charlotte Warren – – Chair: Charlotte.Warren@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Patrick Corey- – Chair: Patrick.Corey@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Karen Gerrish- – Chair: Karen.Gerrish@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Martin Grohman: Martin.Grohman@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Lloyd Herrick- – Chair: Skip.Herrick@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Donald Marean- – Chair: Don.Marean@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Thomas Longstaff- – Chair: Thomas.Longstaff@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Catherine Nadeau- – Chair: Catherine.Nadeau@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Lois Reckitt- – Chair: Lois.Reckitt@legislature.maine.gov
Rep. Rachel Talbot Ross: Rachel.talbotross@legislature.maine.gov

Please Pray: May the words of our mouths and the meditations of our hearts be acceptable in thy sight, Oh Lord, our Strength and our Redeemer.  Pray this bill becomes law to punish the perpetrators of this heinous crime and discourage further acts moving forward.

Penny Morrell
State Director
CWA of Maine
director@maine.cwfa.org
me.cwfa.org