Sexually Transmitted Diseases: The Cost of Free Love

Print Friendly

In 1918, when the Chamberlain-Kahn Act was signed into law, the newly established Division of Venereal Diseases within the Bureau of the Public Health Service tracked three specific venereal diseases: Syphilis, Gonorrhea, and Chancroid. By 1950, the list expanded to include Granuloma Inguinale and Lymphogranuloma Venereum. Today, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reports on the three notifiable diseases, Chlamydia, Gonorrhea, and Syphilis as well as using other sources to report on Chancroid, Human Papillomavirus, Herpes Simplex Virus, and Trichomoniasis.

Leave a Reply