Legislative Update for April 27, 2012

Print Friendly

Violence Against Women

The Senate voted 68-31 this week to pass the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA), S. 1925.This nicely titled legislation destroys the family by obscuring real violence in order to promote the feminist agenda.It also creates new protections for homosexuals.In order to receive federal grants, domestic violence organizations have to agree to embrace the homosexual agenda.While this is a far cry from victory, Concerned Women for America Legislative Action Committee (CWALAC), along with our friends, have finally made inroads into the Senate.For the first time since it was enacted in 1994, a significant number of senators did not just blindly support a bad bill.

Sen. Chuck Grassley (R- Iowa) offered an alternative bill in the Judiciary Committee that would have solved some of the problems associated with VAWA, but the Democrats would not even budge and passed VAWA out of committee on a straight party-line vote.  Trying to fix some of the problems with S. 1925, Sens. Grassley and Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas) offered an alternative bill that would address some of the financial irregularities and hidden agendas that have plagued the programs funded by the legislation.  This alternative, while an improvement, didn’t completely address all of CWALAC’s concerns with VAWA.It failed by a vote of 37-62.

House Republicans have indicated they intend to follow suit.They plan to act quickly to pass a domestic violence law so they can eliminate this issue from election-year politicizing.This week Reps. Sandy Adams (R-Florida) and Kristi Noem (R-South Dakota) held a press conference to highlight that violence against women is not a political ball to be bandied around.The House VAWA bill is expected to be introduced next week.

Act Now:Please call and thank Sen. Grassley at 202-224-3744 for his leadership on VAWA.Also, if your senator is listed below, please call to thank him/her for opposing VAWA.

John Barrasso (R-Wyoming): 202-224-6441
Roy Blunt (R-Missouri) : 202-224-5721
John Boozman (R-Arkansas) : 202-224-4843
Richard Burr (R-North Carolina) : 202-224-3154
Saxby Chambliss (R-Georgia): 202-224-3521
Tom Coburn (R-Oklahoma) : 202-224-5754
Thad Cochran (R-Mississippi) : 202-224-5054
John Cornyn (R-Texas) : 202-224-2934
Jim DeMint (R-South Carolina) : 202-224-6121
Michael Enzi (R-Wyoming) : 202-224-3424
Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina) : 202-224-5972
Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) : 202-224-3744
Orrin Hatch (R-Utah) : 202-224-5251
Jim Inhofe (R-Oklahoma) : 202-224-4721
Johnny Isakson (R-Georgia) : 202-224-3643
Mike Johanns (R-Nebraska) : 202-224-4224
Ron Johnson (R-Wisconsin) : 202-224-5323
Jon Kyl (R-Arizona) : 202-224-4521
Mike Lee (R-Utah) : 202-224-5444
Richard Lugar (R-Indiana) : 202-224-4814
Mitch McConnell (R-Kentucky) : 202-224-2541
Jerry Moran (R-Kansas) : 202-224-6521
Rand Paul (R-Kentucky) : 202-224-4343
Jim Risch (R-Idaho) : 202-224-2752
Pat Roberts (R-Kansas) : 202-224-4774
Marco Rubio (R-Florida) : 202-224-3041
Jeff Sessions (R-Alabama) : 202-224-4124
Richard Shelby (R-Alabama) : 202-224-5744
John Thune (R-South Dakota) : 202-224-2321
Pat Toomey (R-Pennsylvania) : 202-224-4254
Roger Wicker (R-Mississippi) : 202-224-6253