Rainbow Flag in Front of City Hall?

By July 24, 2015California
Print Friendly

Dear CWA friends your prayers and actions are needed!

A situation is developing in Santa Ana where the City Council is considering a vote on whether or not they should fly the symbol of gay pride, the rainbow flag, permanently in front of the Santa Ana City Hall.

This was initiated by Councilman Tinajero who admits that he has personal reasons: his son is gay. The flagpole at City Hall is not the place to promote personal causes. This would just open the door to other special interest groups demanding that they be represented. If we’ve learned anything from the confederate flag debate in South Carolina, it is that a flag flown on government buildings ought not to be in preference to or exclusion of one group or another.

If you live in Santa Ana, it is important that you contact your city council members now and let them know where you stand.

Should this be approved, it would be the first in the country.

PRAY: Whether you are a resident of the area or not, please join Santa Ana Christians in prayer over this decision.


1. If you live in the city of Santa Ana, respectfully and convincingly contact each City Council Member and let them know that you do not support the display of the rainbow flag on public buildings. Feel free to use any of the comments in this alert.

Santa Ana City Council
20 Civic Center Plaza
P.O. Box 1988, M31, Santa Ana, CA 92701
phone: 714-647-6900
fax: 714-647-6954

Mayor Miguel Pulido: mpulido@santa-ana.org
Mayor Pro Tem Vincent Sarmiento: vsarmiento@santa-ana.org
Councilwoman Michele Martinez: mmartinez@santa-ana.org
Councilwoman Angelica Amezcua: aamezcua@santa-ana.org
Councilman David Benavides: dbenvides@santa-ana.org
Councilman Roman Reyna: rreyna@santa-ana.org
Councilman Sal Tinajero*: stinajero@santa-ana.org
*Councilman Tinajero is the member who introduced this proposal.

2. If the vote occurs, it could be Tuesday, September 1. Please mark your calendar and plan to attend this City Council meeting at 5:45 p.m. in the City Council Chambers, 22 Civic Center Plaza, Santa Ana, CA 92701 or as noted on the agenda.

3. Whether you live in Santa Ana or not, please forward this on to like-minded individuals.

4. Be aware that this could happen in other cities. Be alert to what is happening in your city and county.